Books I read in May – 2017

51ThA+ZkRPL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Eleanor and Park – by Rainbow Rowell – I have heard many thoughts about this book, in fact, the massive attention this book have been continuously getting prompted me to read this book, and I found it alright. This is in no way to discredit or devalue this novel, it just wasn’t what I would read usually and hence didn’t peak my interest. If you love a good, romance, boy meets girl novel, then this is a gem!!

 

 

unnamedThe Power of Concentration – Theron Q. Dumont – I found this only my own,while browsing through this app called Librivox (that offers audiobooks for free) and definitely recommend it if you are struggling with a lack of focus. It speaks to the point and is relatively quick to and easy to grasp.

 

go-set-a-watchman-UK.jpg

 

Go Set A Watchman – Harper Lee – This was an interesting read, knowing well that Harper Lee wasn’t planning on publishing this, it almost feels unfair to say any thing about it. I was impressed by the story line – the twist with Atticus Finch and his opinions shifting had me shocked and intrigued!

 

 

The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho – Simple story conveying a magnificent theory on life – this novel is great at changing the perspective of someone’s life – it sheds a new light on optimistic views to life. Definitely worth reading!

paulo
The Alchemist

The Chemist – Stephenie Meyer – I loved the elaborate details that surrounded the story line. The characters were carefully developed and the plot was well thought out. What stood out to me was the different vibe it gave off – its not a typical novel and I loved that about it.

THE-CHEMIST-jacket

 

 

 

The Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka – If you are looking for an effective short read, THIS IS IT. Possibly one of the most powerful pieces of writing I have read. The specificity of the detail and the realness of the emotions (and how well it relates to who we are as people) is conveyed so beautifully (and painfully).

Sworn To Silence – Linda Castillo – Possibly the best murder/ suspense/ thriller that I have read. This has been sitting on my bookshelf for more than two years and my only regret is not picking it up sooner to give it a read. If you love the murder/ mystery genre you have to (I mean HAVE TO) read this. 

download
Sworn to Silence

These were all the books I read in May! Not sure if I should continue with doing a monthly roundup – let me know in the comments. Also let me know if you would like to see more about each books – usually I prefer to read a few lines – but let me know if you would prefer more information on each of the books.

Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “Books I read in May – 2017

Leave a Reply

